Denmark misses out on Eurovision final again – The Post

Denmark misses out on Eurovision final again

Semis turn into Nordic nightmare

Lighthouse X waving goodbye (photo: Eurovision)
May 13th, 2016 9:17 am| by Christian W

For the second year in a row, Denmark has failed to progress from the semi-finals of the Eurovision Song Contest.

The Danish fate was sealed after the jury decided that Lighthouse X’s ropey performance of ‘Soldiers of Love’ did not have the pedigree to compete in the final in Stockholm.

“When we had heard the first five winners, we began losing faith,” Lighthouse X member Martin Skriver, told Ekstra Bladet tabloid.

“What we brought to the table was perhaps just not what they were looking for.”

READ MORE: Eurovision no contest: From laughing stock to top of the pops

Nordic woe
The Danish disappointment comes in the wake of last year’s failure in Vienna, which saw the band Anti Social Media also falter in the semis.

In fact, the semi-finals turned into a bit of a Nordic nightmare, with Denmark, Norway, Iceland and Finland all bowing out early. Only the hosts Sweden will be in the final.

In total, 26 countries will be battling it out in the grand final on Saturday at 21:00.

The running order of the final will be:

  1. Belgium
  2. Czech Republic
  3. The Netherlands
  4. Azerbaijan
  5. Hungary
  6. Italy
  7. Israel
  8. Bulgaria
  9. Sweden
  10. Germany
  11. France
  12. Poland
  13. Australia
  14. Cyprus
  15. Serbia
  16. Lithuania
  17. Croatia
  18. Russia
  19. Spain
  20. Latvia
  21. Ukraine
  22. Malta
  23. Georgia
  24. Austria
  25. United Kingdom
  26. Armenia