Danish teams get slice of fair play pie

FC Copenhagen and Esbjerg get tidy sums

FC Copenhagen and Esbjerg are among the Danish football teams that will benefit financially from the UEFA fair play fine pool that other clubs have had to pay into.

UEFA and the European Club Association (ECA) have agreed that 178 million kroner, which nine clubs have been forced to cough up for non-compliance with the Financial Fair Play (FFP) regulations last season, will trickle down to the other clubs that took part in the competition.

“Eighty percent of the amount will be equally dispersed amongst the 73 clubs that too part in the group stages,” Michele Centenaro, the secretary general of ECA, told tv3sport.dk.

“That means that they each receive 264,000 euros [about 1.97 million kroner]. The remaining 20 percent will be shared among the 145 clubs that only took part in the qualification rounds.”

READ MORE: Danish football rocked by match-fixing scandal

Nine culprits to cough up
That means that FC Copenhagen and Esbjerg will receive 1.97 million kroner for their group stage presence, while FC Nordsjælland, Randers and AaB Aalborg will get about 231,000 kroner for taking part in the qualification rounds.

The nine financial fair play culprits who have had to cough up all the money this past season are Bursaspor (Turkey), Anji Makhachkala (Russia), Rubin Kazan (Russia), Zenit Saint Petersburg (Russia), Galatasaray (Turkey), Manchester City (England), Paris Saint-Germain (France), Levski Sofia (Bulgaria) and Trabzonspor  (Turkey).