Danish ministers nominate Millenium Development Goals for Nobel Peace Prize

Current and former development ministers unite for nomination

Fifteen years ago, at the Millennium Summit, all 189 UN member states at the time unanimously committed themselves to achieving the eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) by 2015.

Today, Mogens Jensen, the trade and development minister, along with eight of his predecessors have nominated the MDGs for a Nobel Peace Prize to coincide with the year the goals were intended to be achieved.

"The 2015 goals have played a major and significant role in fostering development globally," said Jensen.

"They have contributed to the struggle for a more peaceful world and therefore deserve to be nominated for the Nobel Peace Price. I'm delighted that Denmark's former development ministers are fully and wholeheartedly backing the nomination."

Jensen stresses this was the first time world leaders came together to make such a strong statement, gathering the world community "around a vision for development, stability and better conditions in many corners of the world".

A look ahead
The minister pointed out that the MDGs have resulted in "halving global poverty" and ensuring that "nine out of ten children attend school today". Jensen also predicted that the goals would "probably substitute" new global sustainability goals during this year's UN General Assembly, which is set to take place in the autumn.

"It is crucial for Denmark to ensure that ambitious goals set for the next 15 years can help strengthen the focus on education, women's rights, peace and security, and sustainable development,"  said Jensen.

The eight MDGs are:
– eradicating extreme poverty and hunger
– achieving universal primary education
– promoting gender equality and empowering women
– reducing child mortality
– improving maternal health
– combating HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases
– ensuring environmental sustainability
– developing a global partnership for development