New honorary prize to recognise the victims of the Copenhagen terror attacks

Lucie Rychla
February 11th, 2016

This article is more than 7 years old.

Meanwhile, a survey reveals that a year after the attacks many municipalities still lack a strategy against radicalisation

The Danish Parliament will award the victims of last February’s Copenhagen terror attacks, Finn Nørgaard and Dan Uzan, a new honorary prize.

According to Parliament, the Folketingets Hæderspris will in the future be given to civilians who die performing extraordinary acts of heroism, normally at a ceremony at Christiansborg on a date that is either important to the recipient or marks the tragic event.

As part of the honorary prize, 200,000 kroner will be donated to a charity in the victim’s name.

A statuette with an inscription will be awarded to the family of the victim and a plaque will be put up in Parliament.

READ MORE: Quiet march with candles to mark anniversary of Copenhagen terrorist attacks

Lacking strategy against radicalisation
Meanwhile, a survey carried out by the radio channel P4 has revealed that a year after the tragic events in Copenhagen, 13 out of 26 municipalities in the Capital Region still do not have an anti-radicalisation strategy in place.

Last year, the government allocated 9.6 million kroner to stepping up municipal efforts to curb youth radicalisation.

The Copenhagen attacks were carried out by 22-year-old Omar El-Hussein, who it is believed was radicalised whilst in prison, from which he was released shortly before carrying out the attacks.


Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive The Daily Post

Latest Podcast