Neil Young to rock Roskilde Festival

Canadian legend among 105 bands added to line-up today

There will be some serious ‘Rockin for the free world’ going on this summer just south of Copenhagen following the revelation that Neil Young will headline at the 2016 Roskilde Festival.

The Canadian legend and his band Promise of the Real was one of 105 new acts unveiled today to complete Roskilde Festival’s line-up for this year’s edition.

“Eight years ago Neil Young took to the festival’s iconic Orange Stage and gave his fans a lesson in rock history,” the Roskilde Festival wrote.

“The 70-year-old legend now returns with his band Promise of the Real, featuring Willie Nelson’s sons. More than just a backing band, they have inspired Young to explore roots traditions on their new album.”

Other bands added today included metal band Slayer, James Blake, Grimes, M83, Biffy Clyro, Future and Santigold.

READ MORE: Roskilde Festival names first red-hot headliner

Tenacious line up
Just 80 days away now, the festival has already revealed several other big names, including comedy/rock duo Tenacious D, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Mø and PJ Harvey.

New Order, LCD Soundsystem, Macklemore and Ryan Lewis, Tame Impala and Wiz Khalifa are also among the noteworthy bands featuring this year.

Another interesting act will be the Syrian National Orchestra for Arabic Music with Damon Albarn and guests, which is scheduled to open the Orange Stage.