Denmark in talks with eight other countries to open borders

Prime Minister Mette Frederiksen is discussing ‘possible travel corridors’ with eight other countries, according to Politiken.

Nine countries, of which most could claim to have successfully mitigated the impact of the virus, are involved in the discussions.

READ ALSO:Government unveils third phase of reopening 

It is believed that the Czech Republic, Singapore, Israel, New Zealand, Austria, Greece, Australia and Norway are included – in addition to Denmark.

According to Politiken, “tourism between safe countries” was discussed at the last meeting of the group and Greece has shown interest in welcoming Danish tourists from July 1.

However, at her press conference today, Frederiksen maintained that it is still unsure whether border openings will be included in phase 3.

READ ALSO: Denmark presents ambitious coronavirus testing strategy