Danish squad now complete: here are the 26 players ready to fight for the country at the 2022 World Cup

National coach Kasper Hjulmand has confirmed his last five selections for Qatar

They were 21 last Monday, and now they are 26. One day before today’s selection deadline, national coach Kasper Hjulmand made his whole squad for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar official.

READ ALSO: No surprises in Denmark’s 2022 World Cup squad … for now

Joining the likes of Christian Eriksen, Simon Kjær and Kasper Schmeichel are goalkeeper Frederik Rønnow (Union Berlin), defender Alexander Bah (Benfica), midfielder Christian Nørgaard (Brentford) and forwards Yussuf Poulsen (RB Leipzig) and Robert Skov (Hoffenheim).

No big surprises among Hjulmand’s choices
As expected, the third goalkeeper after Kasper Schmeichel and Oliver Christensen will be Frederik Rønnow. Most pundits concurred he was the best candidate for the role.

Midfielder Christian Nørgaard, who just came back from injury, and forward Yussuf Poulsen (RB Leipzig) were also safe options for Kasper Hjulmand.

The 24-year-old defender Alexander Bah is having a great season with Benfica and it would have been a huge surprise if he wasn’t part of the squad.

And even if winger Robert Skov (Hoffenheim) hasn’t been in great shape these last few weeks, he was also odds-on to be selected.

Tunisia next Tuesday
The Danes will start the competition against Tunisia in just eight days’ time on November 22.

Defending champions France await four days later, before the final group stage game offers a battle with Australia on November 30.

The 26 Danish players selected for the 2022 World Cup:

Goalkeepers: Kasper Schmeichel (OGC Nice), Oliver Christensen (Hertha Berlin), Frederik Rønnow (Union Berlin)

Defenders: Joakim Mæhle (Atalanta), Jens Stryger Larsen (Trabzonspor), Rasmus Kristensen (Leeds), Daniel Wass (Brøndby IF), Simon Kjær (AC Milan), Andreas Christensen (Barcelona), Joachim Andersen (Crystal Palace), Victor Nelsson (Galatasaray), Alexander Bah (Benfica)

Midfielders: Mathias Jensen (Brentford), Thomas Delaney (Sevilla), Pierre-Emile Højbjerg (Tottenham), Christian Eriksen (Manchester United), Christian Nørgaard (Brentford)

Forwards: Mikkel Damsgaard (Brentford), Andreas Skov Olsen (Club Brugge), Jesper Lindstrøm (Eintracht Frankfurt), Martin Braithwaite (Espanyol), Andreas Cornelius (FC Copenhagen), Kasper Dolberg (Sevilla), Jonas Wind (Wolfsburg), Yussuf Poulsen (RB Leipzig), Robert Skov (Hoffenheim)