Denmark allows entry to citizens of six non-EU countries

Denmark will allow in travellers from Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea and Thailand

Denmark is allowing entry to citizens of six select non-EU countries, but still advises against non-essential travel to nations outside of Europe.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs on Thursday said that the citizens of Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea and Thailand will be allowed to enter Denmark, according to DR.

Denmark’s guidelines on non-EU countries is based on the EU list as well as the Scandinavian nation’s own assessment of coronavirus infections in other countries. The EU has opened its borders to 14 non-European countries, excluding the US.

Denmark has several criteria for assessing which non-EU countries to allow entry to, but the most pertinent one is the country having 16 or fewer cases of new coronavirus infections for every 100,000 inhabitants over the last 14 days, the ministry said.

The countries also need to have stable or declining new infection cases as well as a robust response to the pandemic, including strong testing and contract tracing measures.

“Many countries are still hit hard by the COVID-19 pandemic and have entry restrictions or strict quarantine requirements. Naturally, we must ensure that the Danish travel advice reflects these circumstances,” said the foreign minister, Jeppe Kofod.

Norway exception
The government has also exempted residents of Norway from the requirement of having proof of a valid booking in Denmark of at least six nights to be allowed to enter the country starting from July 4.

Despite the easing of restrictions and allowing some tourists in, the ministry said that it still advised Danes against travelling to more than 160 countries outside of the EU and Schengen area due to the health situation.

Meanwhile, the UK is expected to today include Denmark on a list of 60 countries from where visitors to the country is acceptable from July 10, thus excusing them from self-isolating for two weeks upon arrival.