Election fallout: Who’s out, who’s on the cusp and who never had a chance

See the upshot of the 2015 general election for the unlucky candidates

As always, the end of the general election brings both winners and losers.

Alternativet’s success forced several large profiles from Socialistisk Folkeparti and Radikale to wave goodbye to parliament.

In the blue bloc, Venstre and Konservative suffered a fallback, resulting in a farewell to several prominent names.

At the same time, a number of hopeful candidates wishing for a seat at Christiansborg also saw their dreams shatter in front of them with the results of last night’s election.

TV2 News made a roundup of the biggest profiles that did not get a seat in Parliament this time round.


Lars Barfoed (K)
Konservative former chairman Lars Barfoed has been significantly affected by the party’s nationwide decline. The party lost its one seat in the Copenhagen greater constituency, and thus it is goodbye for Barfoed, who stood in Frederiksberg. Barfoed has been a member of Parliament since 2001.

Karina Lorentzen Dehnhardt (SF)
SF’s setback in the elections means that the party in the South Jutland constituency goes from two to zero seats. This means that the party’s spokesman Karina Lorentzen loses her seat in parliament, where she has served since 2007.

Steen Gade (SF)
Another victim of SF’s decline is the veteran Steen Gade, as he failed to secure re-election in the West Jutland greater constituency. Gade has been a member of parliament since 1981.

Rosa Lund (SE)
Enhedslisten got 14 seats in Thursday’s election, and member of parliament Rosa Lund is the only one from the party list not to be re-elected. Lund has been a member of Parliament since 2011.

Mike Legarth (K)
Konservative won no seats in the South Jutland greater constituency, and thus Mike Legarth will wave goodbye to Parliament, where he has been a member since 2007.


Özlem Cekic (SF)
SF lost two seats in the Copenhagen greater constituency, and it seems that Özlem Cekic will be the first to go. Cekic has been a member of parliament since 2007.

Ida Auken / Manu Sareen (R)
Radikale’s last mandate in the Copenhagen greater constituency will go to either the previous SF’er Ida Auken or Manu Sareen, the current integration minister. Whichever way it falls, it will be goodbye for one of these two profiles.

Zenia Stampe / Rasmus Helveg Petersen (R)
In Zealand, two Radikale profiles are fighting for one single seat, which will go to either Rasmus Helveg Petersen, the climate and energy minister, or Zenia Stampe, the foreign affairs spokesman. The second will be out of parliament.

Annette Vilhelmsen or Karsten Hønge (SF)
Annette Vilhelmsen, the former chairman of SF, who stood in Funen’s greater constituency is struggling to remain in parliament. SF’s seat will either go to her or to Karsten Hønge – also known as the “worker from hell”.

Morten Løkkegaard / Jakob Engel Schmidt
Last year, Morten Løkkegaard lost his place in the European Parliament after a bad election for Venstre, and now he seems to have lost his place at Christiansborg too. He struggles against MP and former VU-President Jakob Engel Schmidt for Venstre’s last seat in the Copenhagen greater constituency.


Mads Holger (K)
There was no seat in parliament for Mads Holger, and not only that, he has now been excluded from the Konservative party. His exclusion, according to TV2, comes down to his repeated criticism of the party, which among other things, he called “a dying patient”.

Charlotte Bircow (LA)
This April, former fitness queen Charlotte Bircow announced that she would stand as a candidate for the Liberal Alliance in the Copenhagen greater constituency, but had no success in the election this time round.

Yahya Hassan (Independent)
The Nationalpartiet failed to accumulate enough voter declarations before the election, and Yahya Hassan, who instead ran as an independent in the East Jutland greater constituency, obtained only 937 votes – far from enough for a seat in parliament.

John Erik Wagner (Independent)
The “Sheriff from Amager” John Erik Wagner did not make it into parliament this time round after causing a stir with his election poster, where he appeared wearing only a cowboy hat and holster.

  • How internationals can benefit from joining trade unions

    How internationals can benefit from joining trade unions

    Being part of a trade union is a long-established norm for Danes. But many internationals do not join unions – instead enduring workers’ rights violations. Find out how joining a union could benefit you, and how to go about it.

  • Internationals in Denmark rarely join a trade union

    Internationals in Denmark rarely join a trade union

    Internationals are overrepresented in the lowest-paid fields of agriculture, transport, cleaning, hotels and restaurants, and construction – industries that classically lack collective agreements. A new analysis from the Workers’ Union’s Business Council suggests that internationals rarely join trade unions – but if they did, it would generate better industry standards.

  • Novo Nordisk overtakes LEGO as the most desirable future workplace amongst university students

    Novo Nordisk overtakes LEGO as the most desirable future workplace amongst university students

    The numbers are especially striking amongst the 3,477 business and economics students polled, of whom 31 percent elected Novo Nordisk as their favorite, compared with 20 percent last year.